Historia del RO

Historia del RO

La historia del Ragnarok Online esta basada en la mitologia nórdica en la que el universo se divide en tres niveles en el que existen nueve mundos:

  • Asgard
  • Vanaheim
  • Alfheim
  • Midgard: hogar de los humanos, conectado a Asgard por Bifrost o puente arco-iris.
  • Jotunheim
  • Svartalfheim
  • Nidavellir
  • Niflheim
  • Muspelheim

Referente a la historia en la que se encuadra Ragnarok Online, encontramos distintas introducciones en los diferentes servidores oficiales:


Despues de la larga y cruenta guerra entre Dioses, Humanos y Demonios… Con cicatrices de los momentos peligrosos en la batalla, y evitando la destrucción total, los Humanos, Dioses y Demonios comenzaron una larga tregua.

1.000 años de frágil y forjada paz…

In the land of Midgard, the existence of peace eventually led the humans to erase their memories of the scars and hardships of the wars in the past. Not remembering the faults of the past, culture was spreading throughout the land along with selfishness, corruption, and arrogance.

Then one day, strange occurrences started happening, breaking the balance that once existed in Midgard. There came a strange howl from the boundaries that divided the humans, God, and demons; creatures began attacking; increasing earthquakes and hail - and… The mysterious legend of demons… As the fragile peace began to fall apart, stories about the parts of Ymir, protecting the peace, began to spread among the adventurers. Forgetting the true nature of it, people set out to seek each of the pieces for their own selfishness, and the wealth that would come with it…


Once, there was a time where everything did not exist. There wasn't sand or sea, no ocean and the earth, not even the sky with his stars. At the beginning, there was only Ginnungagap, the endless void. So Allfather Ghost created the being and in the south, Muspelheim, the land of glow and fire rised like in the North, Niffleheim, the land of fogs, coldness and darkness. From Niffleheim in the north, a raging source came into being, where twelve streams came out of. They fell into abyss, separated the north from the south and then freezed. From Muspelheim, blazing sparks fell onto the ice and so … the ice melted. From sparks coming out of Muspelheim, the Gods created the stars. They gave them names and showed each of them their way they have to fly. The Gods created nine realms, three for the underworld, three earthly and three heavenly.

Deep inside of the earth, was Niffleheim the land of ice and the dead. Nifflelheim is the deepest abyss, where criminals and perjurers suffer their punishment. On the earth was Midgard, whose inhabitants are human, Riesenland, where the frost and giants live and Wanenheim, the realm of the earth and watergods, who name themselves the race of Wanen.

In heaven, Muspelheim, the fireland and Lichtalfenheim, the home of the Light dwarf, cheerful and of beautiful shape. They are friends of he humans. But from all of the realms in heaven, Asgard, the land of the Asen, is worth mentioning. The Gods live in here in the castles they built by themselves. A mighty bridge, Bifroest, the rainbow, connected the earth to heaven. Only the gods could cross this bridge, guarded by the wise Heimdall.

He wears a Horn called Giallar, that he uses to call the Asen on the day of apocalypse for battle.

An old prophecy proclaims the Asen, that the wolf Fenris will bring them their downfall. So the gods captured Fenris with ruse, tied him onto a rock in the sea and shut his throat with a sword. But on the day of apocalypse, he will free himself and fight against the Asen just like the Midgardsnake, which rests on the ground of the sea and bounds the earth with its body.

Y entonces Ragnarök, el día del Apocalipsis, rompe sobre Asgard…